Bringing Newport together since 1928
Built by the joint efforts of the firm of John Lysaght Ltd and its employees, of the Orb Steelworks, “The Stute” as it was known, opened its doors in December 1928.
Standing in over eight acres of grounds, it boasted a ballroom, billiard room, skittle alley, public bar and lounge. “The Stute” provided Orb Steelworkers and their families with a wide range of social activities and events for many years. The Institute closed its doors for the last time in 2001 and sadly the building deteriorated rapidly.
Bought by Linc-Cymru, we have invested £3 million to transform this iconic building into an exciting new meeting, conference and events venue fit for the 21’st century.